Down and Around the Danube (Viminacium tour) - one day excursion

(Place of departure: , )

Tour code: #111
  • 2018/03/images/tour_111/549.jpg
  • 2018/03/images/tour_111/2694.jpg
  • 2018/03/images/tour_111/3145.jpg
  • 2018/03/images/tour_111/3146.jpg
  • 2018/03/images/tour_111/3147.jpg
  • 2018/03/images/tour_111/3148.jpg

Abstract:

In a single day you will visit two fotresses on the Danube, discover what the Roman town of Viminacium looked like, relax on the banks of Lake Srebrno Jezero...

Activities:

Visit to Smederevo fortress
Visit to Viminacium archeological site
Walk and free time on Srebrno Jezero Lake
Visit to Ram fortress
Crossing the Danube on a ferryboat

Tour description:

We start from Novi Sad at 7:00 and from Belgrade at 8.30 am and after an hour’s drive reach Smederevo whose huge fortress has been the last medieval capital of Serbia. Nowadays the fortress is one of the largest on the Danube and among the most important in Serbia.

After the visit we head for Kostolac where we will visit the archeological site of Viminacium, once an important Roman town, the capital of the province of Upper Moesia. Apart from the ruins and ancient tombs we will also see the skeletons of many mammoths found during the excavation.  

Our journey continues to Srebrno Jezero Lake where we will have free time that you can use for lunch in one of the local restaurants, a swim in the lake or both.

Return to Belgrade in the evening hours. 

 

 


 

Dates of departure:

Sun 29.04.2018
Sun 06.05.2018
Sun 13.05.2018
Sun 20.05.2018
Sun 27.05.2018
Sun 03.06.2018
Sun 10.06.2018
Sun 17.06.2018
Sun 24.06.2018
Sun 01.07.2018
Sun 08.07.2018
Sun 15.07.2018
Sun 22.07.2018
Sun 29.07.2018
Sun 05.08.2018
Sun 12.08.2018
Sun 19.08.2018
Sun 26.08.2018
Sun 02.09.2018
Sun 09.09.2018
Sun 16.09.2018
Sun 23.09.2018
Sun 07.10.2018
Sun 14.10.2018
Sun 21.10.2018
Sun 28.10.2018
Sun 04.11.2018
Sun 11.11.2018
Sun 18.11.2018
Sun 02.12.2018
Sun 03.03.2019
Sun 10.03.2019
Sun 17.03.2019
Sun 24.03.2019

Location of departure:



Time of departure:

07:00 Novi Sad, 08:30h Beograd

Conditions for free cancellation

Free cancelation 7 days before departure.

Notes for transport

A van or a mini bus with up to 30 seats. Passengers traveling from Novi Sad need to pay additional 750 RSD/7 eur. Minimal number of persons starting from Novi Sad is 10.

Included in price

Transportation with a tourist class bus with up to 30 seats - for sheduled tour
Licensed tourist guide
Crossing the Danube on a ferryboat
All entrance tickets

Not included in price

Lunch or drinks
Individual passenger expenses

Notes on dressing

During the ferryboat ride warmer clothes might be needed. In summer months it is possible to swim in Srebrno Jezero Lake – take your swimming suits with you.

Notes on benefits

Claustrophobic or persons that are not physically fit are advised not to visit the tombs in Viminacium. In case of bad weather it is not possible to visit the “Mammoth Park”, the ruins of the amphitheatre nor is it possible to cross the Danube by ferry. In that case, after visiting Ram, we will continue our journey via Požarevac where it is possible to visit the Museum of Milena Pavlović-Barili, if the majority of passengers are willing.

Terms of payment

Passengers starting from Novi Sad need to pay an additional 8 eur for minimum 10 pax. The promotional price is valid up to 10 days prior to departure. The minimal number of passengers needed is 25. In case of changes on the monetary market or a smaller number of passengers the organizer reserves the right to change the price, change the program or cancel the trip at latest 5 days before the departure. In case a passenger cancels the cancellation rates of YUTA are applied. Every 11th passenger travels for free. This program will be realized for minimum of 25 and maximum of 30 persons. Fewer people in group mean better mobility and more attention from the guide