Fruška Gora and Sremski Karlovci tour - monasteries and wines

(Place of departure: )

Tour code: #193
1 day
Destinations:
  • 2018/02/images/tour_193/3157.jpg
  • 2018/02/images/tour_193/1336.jpg
  • 2018/02/images/tour_193/1337.jpg
  • 2018/02/images/tour_193/1340.jpg
  • 2018/02/images/tour_193/1341.jpg

Abstract:

Get to know Serbia's colourful history and discover amazing wines. This tour explores Fruška gora mountain, and reveals some unique monasteries and fine wineries, as well as compact historic town of Sremski Karlovci, known for plentiful attractions and great wineries.

Activities:

Visit to the Novo Hopovo monastery
Wine tasting in one of wineries in Irig (Kovačević or Mačkov podrum)
Visit to the monasteries of Grgeteg and Krušedol
Visit to the Chapel of Peace in Sremski Karlovci
Visiting the Patriarchal Museum
Wine tasting in one of Sremski Karlovci’s wine cellars

Tour description:

Given a mere 539-metres highest peak and close proximity  of Novi Sad city, one wouldn’t expect much from Mt Fruška Gora. However, , this mountain is awash with historic treasures and pleasant unknown corners, be it old towns or  villages, Orthodox monasteries or excellent wineries.

After a short drive across the Danube we reach  lush Fruška Gora woodlands,  justly named as “Alma Mons (“Fruitful Mountain”) by the Romans. Our first stop is the monastery of Novo Hopovo with its unique church spire and dome as well as  beautifully decorated interior by early 17th century fresco paintings. 

Continuing on minor roads through picturesque villages we reach Grgeteg monastery. The  existing monastery complex rose from ashes after being demolished and plundered by Croatian Nazis during World War Two.  Nowadays this is a place of serenity and prayer, highly regarded by local residents . Tourists flock here to see  elaborate templon conceived  by  Serbia's famous painter Paja Jovanović.  we then visit another remarkable monastery  Krušedol, with its beautiful 16th century  fresco and  tombs of significant contributors to Serbian history.

Last but  not least, we arrive to the picture-postcard town of Sremski Karlovci   which abounds with old churches and magnificent palaces  but even older wine cellars!. After  visiting  most important sites  there is an optional visit to the  Parish Museum  boasting a rich collection of  vintage books and icons Time permitting we visit  the Chapel of Peace, where  historicKarlowitz Treaty was agreed  back in 1699. We wrap up the day with wine tasting followed by lunch at  local wine producers' estate.

From Sremski Karlovci there  is only a short ride back to the bustling centre of Novi Sad where we are scheduled to return  by 5 pm.  

Meeting place:Magelan Travel Agency,  Nikole Pašića Street

Dates of departure:

Fri 27.04.2018
Fri 04.05.2018
Fri 11.05.2018
Fri 18.05.2018
Fri 25.05.2018
Fri 01.06.2018
Fri 08.06.2018
Fri 15.06.2018
Fri 22.06.2018
Fri 29.06.2018
Fri 06.07.2018
Fri 13.07.2018
Fri 20.07.2018
Fri 27.07.2018
Fri 03.08.2018
Fri 10.08.2018
Fri 17.08.2018
Fri 24.08.2018
Fri 31.08.2018
Fri 07.09.2018
Fri 14.09.2018
Fri 21.09.2018
Fri 28.09.2018
Fri 05.10.2018
Fri 12.10.2018
Fri 19.10.2018
Fri 26.10.2018
Fri 02.11.2018
Fri 09.11.2018
Fri 16.11.2018
Fri 23.11.2018
Fri 30.11.2018
Fri 07.12.2018
Fri 14.12.2018
Fri 21.12.2018
Fri 28.12.2018
Fri 04.01.2019
Fri 11.01.2019
Fri 18.01.2019
Fri 25.01.2019
Fri 01.02.2019
Fri 08.02.2019
Fri 15.02.2019
Fri 22.02.2019
Fri 01.03.2019
Fri 08.03.2019
Fri 15.03.2019

Location of departure:


Time of departure:

10:30

Conditions for free cancellation

Free cancelation 3 days before departure.

Notes for transport

private car or mini van depending of number of clients

Included in price

Transfer per program
English speaking licensed guide
Entrance tickets during the program
Wine tasting in Irig and Sremski Karlovci

Not included in price

Lunch

Notes on dressing

It is necessary to be adequate dressed when entering the Monasteries and Churches, without sandals, short skirts, bare shoulders, shorts and similar.

Notes on benefits

Minimum for the tour is 4 persons.

Terms of payment

Promotional price is valid only for resevation 7 days before the trip. Regular price is 38 eur. Payment must be made before departure.